Wednesday, March 12, 2008

Another Hard Day At The Office

I got a job today, well yesterday/today.

The other day I saw and add on the internet here for a "Part-time shift manager" at a skateshop here called Fusion. It seemed like it was right up my alley as I don't want to work full time, and how could you be better qualified for the job than me?

Remember when I told some of you that I was getting 5 weeks vacation time paid out after I left work? Well it ended up changing so that I could only get 2 weeks paid out, but I wasn't that bummed. However, the vacation pay I was waiting for never went through, and I had to e-mail the payroll department at work to get it. Well long story short, I somehow hooked up those other 3 weeks of vacation time. And on top of that, I got paid for the last week that I worked before I left, and I got a monthly incentive cheque I wasn't expecting, which was for more than a whole week's work. So basically since I've left Canada I will be getting paid the equivalent of almost two months work. On top of that, I probably will have a tax return before I leave. So what I am trying to say is that I actually don't need to work. And I found this all out yesterday before I applied for the job, and I was seriously considering not going to apply. But I also decided that I am going to go to Australia for 2 weeks, and Japan for 2 or 3 weeks, and that is pretty expensive, so maybe I could use the work. Plus, we really don't know anyone here, and me and Jarrad and Jenn just sit around doing nothing by ourselves most of the time, so this could be a good way to meet some friends and some guys to skate with. Plus, it seems lots of babes work at this store, and babes hang out with babes.

So that big long story was to set up the fact that I wasn't even sure that I wanted to apply for that job yesterday, in fact I was actually kind of bummed on the idea of getting a job, but I went and applied anyway. I got an interview on the spot, and she asked me to come in the next day (today) for a trial shift to see how I did. Well I went in for a two hour shift today, and she offered me the job and asked me to work tomorrow. Yeesh. Work again. Oh well, it doesn't seem too bad in there. I'll give it a try, see if I can meet some people, and if worse comes to worse, I'll just quit. It's not like I need them for a reference or anything. Besides I already lied to them and told them I would be here for at least 6 more months, and I failed to mention my little trips I am planning to take, although they never asked. So yeah, I kind of feel like a dick, but whatever. I also told them I didn't want to work more than 3 days a week, so it can't be TOO bad.

Oh yeah, when she asked if I wanted to work tomorrow I said "Sure, what time?" And she said "Ummmmm how about 11:00?"
"Ooooooooh I don't know, I got some sleeping in to do."
"Okay, 12:00."

Might turn out alright.

No comments: